Wellington Loop teacher chosen as CORE eFellow for 2014

Ben smallThe CORE Education eFellows for 2014 have been announced at the recent ULearn13 conference, held in Hamilton from 9-11 October.  Ben Britton (Wellington High School) has been selected as one of seven eFellows for next year.  Ben will be focusing on the use of 3D printers in the classroom.

The CORE Education eFellowship recognises innovative e-learning practice by New Zealand teachers, and provides a full year of mentoring and inspiration as those selected undertake further inquiries into e-learning in their own classrooms. The seven eFellows selected this year join a group of nearly 80 lifetime members, in a Fellowship that has been steadily growing since the programme’s inception in 2004.

“The idea of the eFellowship is to celebrate excellence in e-learning leadership and practice, and to give busy teachers the space, time, and collegial support to follow a line of inquiry into e-learning they are passionate about”, says CORE Education Senior Researcher and eFellowship coordinator Dr Michael Winter. With over 40 applications this year, he and the selection committee are excited about the variety of classroom research that will take place in 2014, including inquiries into the use of 3D printers and new entrant Modern Learning Environments. “It is hoped that we will continue to see a diverse range of eFellow applications in the future”, says Dr Winter, “especially from Māori and Pasifika, early childhood education, and assistive technology sectors”.

The other eFellows for 2014 are Tim Gander, Vicki Hagenaars, Bec Power, Anne-Louise Robertson, Rowan Taigel, and Marnel van der Spuy.
 Additional information about the eFellowship and the other eFellows for 2014 can be found at the CORE Education website.